Skip to content
Model infoModelsSnapshot: 15 Oct 2026

D-ID / D-ID visual avatars

V4 Expressive

Diffusion-based expressive avatars with sentiment control, conditional 4K output and real-time delivery.

availableClosed weightsVideo generationAvatar animation
Official documentation (opens in a new tab)Reviewed 14 Oct 2026
9 of 21 specification fields collected
Output resolution480p, 720p, 1080p, 2160p / 4KSee specification notes below
Clip durationNot collectedAwaiting source review
Input billingSee ratesD-ID
Output billingSee ratesPublished units and conditions below

Specifications

Provider-documented facts. “Not collected” means we have not verified that field yet, not that the feature is unsupported.

Context / input limit
Not collected

No model-specific public contract established in reviewed sources.

Maximum output
Not collected

No model-specific public contract established in reviewed sources.

Context caching
Not collected

No model-specific public contract established in reviewed sources.

Reasoning
Not collected

No model-specific public contract established in reviewed sources.

Tool calling
Not collected

No model-specific public contract established in reviewed sources.

Structured output
Not collected

No model-specific public contract established in reviewed sources.

Streaming
SupportedSource for Streaming (opens in a new tab)

Real-time avatar delivery is a separate route from asynchronous video rendering.

Batch processing
Not collected

No model-specific public contract established in reviewed sources.

Fine-tuning
Not collected

No model-specific public contract established in reviewed sources.

Parameters
Not collected

No model-specific public contract established in reviewed sources.

Architecture
Proprietary diffusion-based visual avatar modelSource for Architecture (opens in a new tab)
Knowledge cutoff
Not collected

No model-specific public contract established in reviewed sources.

Languages
Not collected

No model-specific public contract established in reviewed sources.

Release date
Not collected

No model-specific public contract established in reviewed sources.

Input modalities
Audio, VideoSource for Input modalities (opens in a new tab)

Text scripts are synthesized by a connected speech provider before visual rendering. Video footage enrolls V3/V4 avatars; generation selects a saved avatar.

Output modalities
VideoSource for Output modalities (opens in a new tab)

Audio can accompany video, but this does not establish a separate native D-ID TTS model.

Maximum prompt characters
10,000Source for Maximum prompt characters (opens in a new tab)

Spoken text excluding SSML tags. Total text/SSML field is capped at 40,000 characters; connected TTS providers may impose lower limits. Characters are not tokens.

Audio formats
M4A, FLAC, MP3, MP4, WAVSource for Audio formats (opens in a new tab)

Accepted audio URL extensions in the request schema. Encoding, source duration and account constraints still apply.

Output resolutions
480p, 720p, 1080p, 2160p / 4KSource for Output resolutions (opens in a new tab)

16:9 output heights. Default 1080p. 2160 requires a 4K avatar and cannot use WebM.

Output formats
MP4, MOV, WebMSource for Output formats (opens in a new tab)

WebM excludes 2160p.

Generation controls
Avatar-specific sentiment ID, output resolution, background color/image/transparency, subtitles and brandingSource for Generation controls (opens in a new tab)

Access & pricing

Prices belong to an endpoint and billing tier. A provider listing does not guarantee access for every account or region.

API model ID
Not collected

The route selects an avatar or presenter ID, not a public immutable weight/checkpoint selector.

Access
POST https://api.d-id.com/expressives; use the returned job ID to poll status or receive a webhook, then retrieve the result URL. API credentials and eligible account access required.
Regions
No single public-cloud processing region or regional inference guarantee established for this route.
Data retention
Provider privacy policy describes commercially reasonable deletion of non-persisted API applicative data within 24 hours, Agents within 72 hours, and Insights within 14 days. Persisted assets, knowledge documents and Studio uploads have different lifetimes. Support/operational access is allowed; this is not default zero retention.Source for Data retention (opens in a new tab)
persistentData
persist=true assets, knowledge documents and Studio uploads persist until erased. While awaiting processing/deletion, applicative data is not accessed for model training; authorized support/operational access remains possible.Source for persistentData (opens in a new tab)
ownStorage
Provider policy permits signed S3 input/output URLs; when the result is directed to customer S3, the result is not stored in D-ID’s system. This is not a blanket promise of no processing or no metadata retention.Source for ownStorage (opens in a new tab)
textAndSpeech
Text or uploaded audio scripts. SSML and subtitles are supported by the schema. Speech providers are Microsoft, ElevenLabs, Amazon, Google and Azure OpenAI; default Microsoft. Exact voices, speech models and restrictions depend on the selected provider.Source for textAndSpeech (opens in a new tab)
Audio file size
Uploaded audio URL is limited to 15 MB. Generic schema duration wording names clips and talks only; do not apply those limits to scenes or expressives without evidence.Source for Audio file size (opens in a new tab)
plansMonthly
API monthly plans: Build $18 / 64 credits; Launch $50 / 180, $99 / 360, $149 / 540; Scale $198 / 800, $248 / 1,000, $297 / 1,200. Credits are a shared account allowance, not separate balances for each model.Source for plansMonthly (opens in a new tab)
plansAnnual
Annual API totals: Build 64 credits/month $172.80/year; Launch 180/360/540 credits per month $420/$831.60/$1,251.60 per year; Scale 800/1,000/1,200 credits per month $1,663.20/$2,083.20/$2,494.80 per year. Annual commitment required.Source for plansAnnual (opens in a new tab)

The 1,200-credit Scale card rounds its monthly display to $208; the annual total is $2,494.80.

creditAccounting
One credit covers each started 15-second block of offline video: a 40-second video consumes three credits. Unused monthly credits expire; API and Studio consume the same credit balance.Source for creditAccounting (opens in a new tab)
Included plan allowances
Published API bundles: 64 credits allow up to 16 offline or 32 streaming minutes; 180/360/540 allow 45/90/135 offline or 90/180/270 streaming minutes; 800/1,000/1,200 allow 200/250/300 offline or 400/500/600 streaming minutes. These are alternative uses of a shared balance, not additive free allowances.Source for Included plan allowances (opens in a new tab)
Language coverage
D-ID advertises 120+ languages and accents at platform level. Actual speech coverage depends on the connected TTS provider and selected voice; no separate native D-ID speech-language inventory is asserted.Source for Language coverage (opens in a new tab)
licenseAndWatermark
Build: personal license, D-ID watermark, photo and two video avatars. Launch: commercial license and AI watermark. Scale: commercial license and custom logo. Specific stock/custom-avatar entitlement depends on the plan. Enterprise is quoted separately.Source for licenseAndWatermark (opens in a new tab)
trial
14-day API trial: up to 3 minutes offline or up to 10 minutes streaming within the trial credit capacity, personal license and full-screen watermark. Not unlimited free inference.Source for trial (opens in a new tab)
sentiments
GET /expressives/avatars returns the available avatar and sentiment IDs. Each sentiment has a configured voice; named examples are not a global fixed emotion enum.Source for sentiments (opens in a new tab)
formatConflict
result_url cannot be supplied together with config.result_format, according to the request property. A config description also says formats must match; avoid supplying both.Source for formatConflict (opens in a new tab)
customEnrollment
Multiple recordings capture facial and vocal sentiments. Custom V4 avatars are Enterprise-only according to the model comparison; 24-hour creation is a provider estimate.Source for customEnrollment (opens in a new tab)
performance
Provider claims model latency below 120 ms, conversational latency below 500 ms, and diffusion-pipeline throughput above 200 generated frames/sec. Workload/hardware details are not specified; these measure different stages and are not playback frame rate.Source for performance (opens in a new tab)
runtimeMemory
Provider reports approximately 3.5 GB GPU memory for four concurrent sessions. This is runtime memory, not parameter count or a universal deployment minimum.Source for runtimeMemory (opens in a new tab)

Prices retain their published currencies and billing units below.

Published billing units · original currency · observed 14 Oct 2026
CategoryUsageRateUnit
Video credit consumptionOffline video11 creditstarted 15 seconds of output

Rate conditions

  1. Published general D-ID video-credit rule; eligible stock/custom avatar access and a funded account are required. Round up each generated video to 15-second blocks. Credit purchase cost depends on subscription and commitment. Not a USD per-minute or LLM token tariff; enterprise terms may differ.
Pricing source (opens in a new tab)

Data & enterprise terms

Provider privacy policy describes commercially reasonable deletion of non-persisted API applicative data within 24 hours, Agents within 72 hours, and Insights within 14 days. Persisted assets, knowledge documents and Studio uploads have different lifetimes. Support/operational access is allowed; this is not default zero retention.

Read the service policy (opens in a new tab)
API model ID
Not collected

The route selects an avatar or presenter ID, not a public immutable weight/checkpoint selector.

Access
POST https://api.d-id.com/v2/agents/{agentId}/sessions; connect using returned LiveKit credentials. interactive sessions use the configured agent pipeline; echo sessions require a secret credential and accept backend-streamed speech.
Regions
No single public-cloud processing region or regional inference guarantee established for this route.
avatarType
expressiveSource for avatarType (opens in a new tab)

SDK avatar discriminator, not an immutable model ID.

transport
LiveKit-based streaming; microphone input and always-on fluent mode. Session response indicates interruption support.Source for transport (opens in a new tab)
Billing scope
0.5 credit per 15 seconds of generated response video, according to the current Agents pricing FAQ. Subscription, licensed avatars and connected services remain separate.Source for Billing scope (opens in a new tab)

Prices retain their published currencies and billing units below.

Published billing units · original currency · observed 14 Oct 2026
CategoryUsageRateUnit
Agent video credit consumptionStreamed response video10.5 credits15 seconds of generated response

Rate conditions

  1. Current provider Agents FAQ states 0.5 credit for every 15 seconds of response video. Paid plan funding and eligible avatar required. Not wall-clock meeting duration, not the self-hosted license, and not a cash/token tariff.
Pricing source (opens in a new tab)

Data & enterprise terms

Provider privacy policy describes commercially reasonable deletion of non-persisted API applicative data within 24 hours, Agents within 72 hours, and Insights within 14 days. Persisted assets, knowledge documents and Studio uploads have different lifetimes. Support/operational access is allowed; this is not default zero retention.

Read the service policy (opens in a new tab)

Customer infrastructure · D-ID license

Provider source (opens in a new tab)
API model ID
Not collected

The route selects an avatar or presenter ID, not a public immutable weight/checkpoint selector.

Access
Licensed customer-cloud deployment with GPU rendering and a streaming backend. Enterprise quote and onboarding required; not publicly downloadable open weights. Azure, AWS or GCP infrastructure and Azure/AWS marketplace procurement are described.
Regions
Customer-selected cloud/private network, subject to deployment agreement and any connected external speech/language services.
Pricing terms
Annual platform license including streaming minutes, with additional on-demand minutes. No public dollar tariff; selected AI providers billed separately without stated markup.Source for Pricing terms (opens in a new tab)
scaling
No fixed concurrency cap advertised, but sessions are limited by provisioned infrastructure. GPU sizing is done during onboarding.Source for scaling (opens in a new tab)
latency
Provider advertises below 200 ms avatar-model rendering for self-hosting. This differs from the public V4 technical page’s below-120-ms model claim; deployment/workload equivalence is not established.Source for latency (opens in a new tab)

Endpoint pricing has not been collected. Check the provider for applicable rates.

Data & enterprise terms

Provider says avatar runtime data stays in customer infrastructure and is not sent to D-ID. Chosen external STT, LLM and TTS providers can receive data. This does not establish a blanket no-egress claim for all connected services.

Read the service policy (opens in a new tab)

Caching

Caching can reuse earlier input processing. Availability, lifetime and billing depend on the endpoint. A cache hit still generates a new response.

01 / INITIAL INPUTProcess & retain

The system processes eligible input and retains reusable state.

02 / LATER REQUESTCheck available state

Reuse depends on matching input, session state and the cache policy.

03 / CACHE HITReuse & generate

Reusing state can reduce repeated work. Any charges follow the billing rules below.

D-ID

Not verified

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

How it works
Not collected

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

Minimum reusable input
Not collected

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

Lifetime & refresh
Not collected

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

How to enable it
Not collected

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

Usage fields
Not collected

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

Billing rules
Not collected

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

Limits & data boundaries
Not collected

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

No verified cache rate for this endpoint. An empty rate is not a zero charge.

Caching reviewed 14 Oct 2026

D-ID

Not verified

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

How it works
Not collected

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

Minimum reusable input
Not collected

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

Lifetime & refresh
Not collected

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

How to enable it
Not collected

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

Usage fields
Not collected

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

Billing rules
Not collected

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

Limits & data boundaries
Not collected

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

No verified cache rate for this endpoint. An empty rate is not a zero charge.

Caching reviewed 14 Oct 2026

Customer infrastructure · D-ID license

Not verified

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

How it works
Not collected

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

Minimum reusable input
Not collected

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

Lifetime & refresh
Not collected

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

How to enable it
Not collected

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

Usage fields
Not collected

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

Billing rules
Not collected

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

Limits & data boundaries
Not collected

Saved avatars, retained assets and reused result URLs are not a published prompt-cache or discounted inference contract.

No verified cache rate for this endpoint. An empty rate is not a zero charge.

Caching reviewed 14 Oct 2026

What the measurements say

SyncNet LSE-D

D-ID · provider-reported
7.16distance · lower is better

June 2026 provider study on the V4 technical page: five avatars per company, varied scripts/network conditions, hundreds of videos and tens of thousands of frames. Exact served checkpoint and full artifact set are not disclosed. Not an independent universal ranking; competitor scores are not assigned to guessed competitor checkpoints.

Evaluation source (opens in a new tab)

SyncNet LSE-C

D-ID · provider-reported
8.67confidence · higher is better

June 2026 provider study on the V4 technical page: five avatars per company, varied scripts/network conditions, hundreds of videos and tens of thousands of frames. Exact served checkpoint and full artifact set are not disclosed. Not an independent universal ranking; competitor scores are not assigned to guessed competitor checkpoints.

Evaluation source (opens in a new tab)

Latency and throughput depend on the host, request size, reasoning settings and load. There is no measured speed or global usage figure in this record.

The record behind the model

Why it is included

D-ID explicitly lists this generation among its avatar models. The visual rendering technology is proprietary; public SDK source and selectable third-party speech/language providers do not make the visual model weights public.

Classification evidence (opens in a new tab)

Lifecycle dates

Official V4 launch announcement16 Mar 2026Source (opens in a new tab)

Sources reviewed