Photoroom Image Editing API
Provider source (opens in a new tab)- API model ID
background-studio-beta-2025-03-17- Access
- API key required
- Regions
- Eastern USA (provider API FAQ); finer deployment regions not specified
- API endpoint URL
- GET or POST https://image-api.photoroom.com/v2/editSource for API endpoint URL (opens in a new tab)
- Authentication
- x-api-key headerSource for Authentication (opens in a new tab)
- Request quotas
- Default 60 images/minute; larger Enterprise quotas by agreement. Parallel calls do not bypass the quota.Source for Request quotas (opens in a new tab)
- Bulk processing
- One image per call; parallel requests supported within account rate limits. No discounted asynchronous Batch contract established.Source for Bulk processing (opens in a new tab)
- Request format
- GET /v2/edit accepts imageUrl and query parameters. POST /v2/edit uses imageFile with multipart form fields; do not put POST options in the query string.Source for Request format (opens in a new tab)
- Input file formats
- PNG, JPEG, WebP, AVIFSource for Input file formats (opens in a new tab)
- Output formats
- PNG, JPEG, WebP, AVIFSource for Output formats (opens in a new tab)
- Input limits
- 30 MB file maximum. Larger images are resized to a 5,000-pixel longest edge. 25 megapixels is a recommendation, not an additional rejection threshold.Source for Input limits (opens in a new tab)
- Output sizing
- outputSize: auto (default), originalImage, croppedSubject or WIDTHxHEIGHT. Auto uses template dimensions when templateId is provided, otherwise original-image dimensions.Source for Output sizing (opens in a new tab)
- Billing conditions
- Plus plan: $0.10 per successful call, including combined edit options. Identical repeated requests are billed again. Enterprise/custom contracts can differ.Source for Billing conditions (opens in a new tab)
- Free usage allowance
- Watermarked sandbox: 1,000 calls/month, maximum 100/day. Prefix API key with sandbox_. No request was submitted during this review.Source for Free usage allowance (opens in a new tab)
- Documentation discrepancy
- Dedicated guide exposes background.expandPrompt.mode; captured OpenAPI exposes background.expandPrompt and lacks the selector header. Retain both descriptions as a schema/guide discrepancy. FAQ omits AVIF, which the dedicated format guide supports.Source for Documentation discrepancy (opens in a new tab)
- Model selection
- pr-ai-background-model-version: background-studio-beta-2025-03-17Source for Model selection (opens in a new tab)
- Required request fields
- Original image plus background.prompt, a guidance image, or both. background.imageFile/imageUrl is a static background, not guidance, and cannot be combined with background.prompt.Source for Required request fields (opens in a new tab)
- Seed controls
- background.seed accepts a positive integer; fixed seeds encourage similar results, not a byte-identical output guarantee. Exact upper bound not specified.Source for Seed controls (opens in a new tab)
- Prompt expansion
- Automatic expansion enabled by default. Guide uses background.expandPrompt.mode=ai.never to disable it.Source for Prompt expansion (opens in a new tab)
- Reference guidance
- background.guidance.imageFile or imageUrl; guidance.scale 0–1, default 0.6. Text and image guidance can be combined. Exact oldest-v2 guidance feature parity is not established.Source for Reference guidance (opens in a new tab)
- Negative prompts
- background.negativePrompt has no effect for this selector.Source for Negative prompts (opens in a new tab)
Selected with pr-ai-background-model-version HTTP header. Not the internal research version ID.
May 2025 changelog says existing customers retain their prior settings.
PNG default; JPEG cannot preserve transparency. JPEG/WebP quality 90, AVIF quality 75 in the guide.
Prices retain their published currencies and billing units below.
| Category | Usage | Rate | Unit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Image API usage | Image editing, including generated backgrounds1 | $0.10 | successful API call |
Rate conditions
- Published Basic/Plus plan rate. A single combined edit call is charged once, not once per enabled feature. Separate calls are billed separately; account-specific Enterprise pricing may differ. No text-token or per-question conversion.
Data & enterprise terms
Provider FAQ says API images are not saved. This is not a full account-data, log-retention or training-use policy.
Read the service policy (opens in a new tab)